Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Corolla Fuel System Questions

new2toyotanew2toyota Member Posts: 5
edited April 2014 in Toyota
Hello all. Newbie here, so please forgive me if I make any errors.

I took delivery of my new '07 Corolla S on December 2, 2006. I have 4981 miles on it as I type this. Yes, I'm a heavy commuter and opted to go with a Toyota based on hearing from many people that a Toyota would last me through all the abuse I'll put it through.

Since I've purchased the vehicle, I noticed I've had occasional problems filling the vehicle up. Often times, it'll click off indicating a full tank when I've only pumped 1/2 a gallon in it. Considering I fill up 2-3x a week, this was starting to get old. Yesterday, however, the same clicking-off issue occurred, followed by about 3 gallons of gasoline spewing out of my gastank while filling up. It never clicked off to indicate my tank was full (I was on 1/2 a tank and when I finally got the pump out of the car, 10 gallons had been dispensed). I was completely covered in gasoline, the panel under the gas hole was saturated in gasoline and I was standing in a huge puddle of gasoline. I was beyond furious and right away called the gas station manager to come clean the mess up and he went absolutely bolistic on me demanding I move my POS out of his gas station. I left and called my dealership to inform them of what just happened.

I immediately brought the car to them and they are unable to figure it out since there are no bulletins on this issue. So much for general auto repair knowledge. They tried to pump more gas into the car, but of course it was totally fine for them.

My dealership is requesting I bring the car back to them when the tank is close to empty so they can fill it up and see if they have the same problem.