Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevrolet Cavalier Starting/Stalling Problems

beehivebeehive Member Posts: 7
edited July 2015 in Chevrolet
Please help. I have a 2004 cavalier and when I am stopped at a stop sign the car acts like it wants to die, I have to put it in park and push in on the gas so it dosen't die. I changed out the fuel filter and air filter. anyone have any ideas on what it can be? I am would like to fix it myself, but I am new to all of this.

See also: (Video, 14:58) How to test & troubleshoot starter problems

Comments

• bunt21_gbunt21_g Member Posts: 8
    i'm not sure have you checked the plugs. if it's been a while it would be a good idea. also the plug wires might be arking out. you can fix that with a set of new ones. good luck. :confuse:
  • beehivebeehive Member Posts: 7
    thanks, I will look into it. :blush:
  • arousiagarousiag Member Posts: 1
    my car will not go over 15mph even with the pedal to the floor please help.
  • gonogogonogo Member Posts: 879
    Check for plugged catalytic converter.
  • kylerousseaukylerousseau Member Posts: 1
    I forgot it running, it ran out of gas and sat until the battery went dead with the key in the "on" position. Now it won't start. Security light, check gauges and service lights all stay on. Gas gauge doesn't register any gas (I put 4 gallons in). Very little gas pressure. Has power to the ICM. No power to fuel pump. Any ideas? Thanks.
    Never heard of that before. Try this, disconnect both battery terminals and touch them together, then hook up positive first then negative. No sure if it will work, but worth a try.
  • mesteedmesteed Member Posts: 2
    My daughter's 96 cavalier shuts off sometimes while she is driving. It starts right back up but is very dangerous. Any ideas on what would cause this? Please help!
  • mdmckeemdmckee Member Posts: 1