Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Pet Talk - My dog/cat is my best friend!

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    Well don't freak him out. I'm no dog expert, just an eye witness to a few incidents. But he should go in eyes open and take all precautions.

Most people say they have good dispositions but they always throw in a little caveat. I think the quote below is more accurate than what I told you---these dogs can be protective and that's where the trouble starts:

"The Mastiff breed is a combination of grandeur, dignity, and courage; calm and affectionate to its master, but capable of guarding. The breed is innately good natured, calm, easygoing, and surprisingly gentle. It is a well-mannered house pet but needs sufficient room to stretch out. This is an extremely loyal breed and though not excessively demonstrative, it is devoted to its family and good with children. However, it can be very protective of its owners and must be handled sensibly, since it is exceptionally powerful and can be difficult to control.
  • patpat Member Posts: 10,421
    From the quote Shifty provided "must be handled sensibly" - that means obedience training as soon as possible and that cannot be overemphasized.
  • michaellnomichaellno Member Posts: 4,120
    I've always been a cat person .. had them at home growing up.

About 7 1/2 years ago, my wife and kids start asking if we can get a dog in the house. I'm reluctant at first, but slowly warm up to the idea. So, off to the pound we go.

We're looking for something medium sized, as my daughter had problems staying home alone and a guard dog would make her feel more comfortable.

We come home with Max - part Shar-pei, part hound dog, part who-knows-what. Great, great dog. Bark is much worse than his bite.