Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Dodge Ram Idle and Stalling Problems

Comments

• ken3rdken3rd Member Posts: 1
    Hi tank07 I have an 07 ram 1500 mega cab also and i have the exact same idle problem , my dealer can not figure it out , Im a heavy truck mechanic and I have tryed everything myself to fix it however this truck does not have an egr valve if it did that would probably be the problem but sence it does not no one can figure it out , did you get yours fixed yet if so what had to be done to fix it , this is driving me nuts .
  • kens999kens999 Member Posts: 7
    Thought I would report back. After replacing the IAC only to have my stalling problem creep back up in a week or two, this is what I did. Pulled the throttle body completely off the intake manifold. Removed all sensors off throttle body. Thoroughly cleaned the throttle body with a throttle body cleaner. Cleaned all sensors and connector contact pins with a dielectric cleaner. Used a new gasket when reinstalling throttle body.

Its been six weeks and the most noticeable difference for me is when I now take my foot of the accelerator, the tac needle slowly sinks rather than bounces around irratically and my truck no longer stalls (fingers crossed).

Good Luck.
  • 1971rsatterfie1971rsatterfie Member Posts: 2
    YOU GOT IT, IT WONT START, TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC, TOLD ME GOT FUEL PRESSURE AN THE PUMP IS WORKING CORRECTLY, NO JUICE TO THE ENGINE..... GO FIGURE,,, REPLACE WHAT THEY CALL THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE OR INTERGRATED CONTROL MODULE. IT IS ON BACK ORDER AT THE DEALERSHIPS BUT ONLINE I FOUND A PLACE IT COST $450.00. GUESS WHAT. IT STILL DOESNT START...GETTING COSTLY FOR THIS VET AN CANT AFFORD A HIGH BILL....ANY IDEAS.......
  • judgejustinjudgejustin Member Posts: 14