Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Scion tC Brakes and Rotors Problems

nevin_tcnevin_tc Member Posts: 1
I have a 2006 TC. I have seen a post with a similar situation when the brakes get hot, they squeal when putting them on with 2 out of 5 brake pressure(5 being the full pressure). It goes away if I brake it fully.

Any follow-up and advices? I have been to the dealership couple of times with the problem, and they said it is normal and fine. Pretty upset and getting annoyed with the noise during the summer. Thanks in advance.

Nevin

Comments

• thomas16thomas16 Member Posts: 7
    I have a 2006 TC - and your description matches mine. It didn't start until I had been driving it for a few months. Each time I go in for an oil change I ask them to check the brakes and the reply is the same - no problem. Took one of the mechanics for a ride to hear the noise. I sit in alot of stop and go traffic. I was told by the dealership there is a film that wears off of the brakes after a few months - and that's when the squeal starts. According to the dealership - they are making brakes with a type metal - sorry that I can't remember exact words. So basically I have to live with it. I love the car so I'm learning to ignore the noise - it could be my imagination but lately it's gotten better. I do note this on my oil changes in case something does happen so that I can show that I repeatadly asked them to check.
  • zoomzoomnolezoomzoomnole Member Posts: 6
    I just bought my 06 scion tC about 5 hours ago =D And I don't know if its supposed to do this or not, but when I slow down the brakes make this whooshing sound, not anything like a squeak or a grinding at all, just a whoosh, not very loud, i can't hear it unless the radio is completely off, but i was just wondering if that was normal, or if i should have it checked out.
  • lvlghlvlvlghlv Member Posts: 3