Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Midsize Sedans 2.0

Comments

• jimbresjimbres Member Posts: 2,025
    Although I've driven a stick for 40 of the 44 years that I've been a licensed driver, I agree with most of your post (Surprised?) Automatics are so much better today than they were when I started driving that the old fuel mileage / reliability arguments really don't hold much water any more.

Still, there are a few cars that can't be fully appreciated unless they're equipped with manuals. One such car is the 3-series BMW. I've been driving a 330i since 2001, & I can't imagine it with a slushbox. The few times that I've driven automatic BMWs (mostly dealer loaners) have left me asking myself: what's the point? If you really want to have fun with this car, you have to be willing to row it yourself.

If you had asked me 25 years ago why I preferred sticks, I would have tossed out fuel economy & lower maintenance as reasons. Today, I'd just say that in the right car, a stick is more fun to drive.
    I used to drive a stick in heavy (NYC metro area) traffic. Back then, it didn't bother me because I simply didn't think about it. I'd listen to the radio or stare at the blonde in the next lane or daydream about winning the lottery & punching out my boss. You could say that I was shifting gears automatically. I wasn't conscious of it at all.

That was years ago, though, & I'm not sure that I'd feel the same way about it today. Now, my daily driver is a Long Island Rail Road M7 electric, which seats 120 in varying degrees of discomfort.

I guess that if I had to commute to work by car, I'd buy an automatic.
  • tlongtlong Member Posts: 5,194
    The favorite of course in a traffic jam is that it's in 2nd gear halfway wound up most of the time, so I just hit the throttle hard and launch into a gap. Often far quicker than anyone else around me.