Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Legacy/Outback Transmission Problems

Comments

• sparky56sparky56 Member Posts: 8
    For what it is worth, it looks like they issued a recall on the manual transmissions on July 15, per the NHTSA website.
  • sparky56sparky56 Member Posts: 8
    Make that July 15, 2010. We had to have the dealer replace our 6 speed in June.
  • kmarkell1kmarkell1 Member Posts: 2
    Please let me know if you find an answer to this question! I bought a Legacy on the exact same day as you and have experienced the same thing. I am the only one that drives my car and I am a relatively gentle driver- I've been babying it!

Thanks!
  • xwesxxwesx Member Posts: 16,788
    Maybe it was lost in translation somewhere, but what engine and transmission does your car have? I'm thinking we must be talking about some sort of automatic, but that is as far as I can reasonably deduce.
    2018 Subaru Crosstrek, 2014 Audi Q7 TDI, 2013 Subaru Forester, 1969 Chevrolet C20, 1969 Ford Econoline 100, 1976 Ford F250
  • legacygt5285legacygt5285 Member Posts: 1
    When I accelerate from first to second the car jumps a little, it is an automatic. The jump is like a jolt or kick, feels like it might be a tranny problem. All the other gears shift pretty smooth and the car drives really good. Just seeing if anyones knows if this is an early, or late sign of a transmission slip or something simple. Thanks guys
  • mjmay9mjmay9 Member Posts: 1
    Same problem with our '11 Legacy. Hard down shift and it is not dependent on the driver. We like everything about the car except this one problem. Very annoying.
  • anemoneanemone Member Posts: 1