Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2006 Mazda3 Trade-In Dilemma

jbmazdajbmazda Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Mazda
About a year ago, my wife and I purchased an '06 Mazda3 Touring Hatch Wagon (black & black leather interior). We've decided to move from NJ to Portland, ME this summer. She is now pregnant - which means we really need a slighly bigger car that will handle well in the Maine winter. I'm a teacher and she's a PT, so we're not very savvy or business-minded. Looking for advice about trading in/up for something a bit larger. We've never done this before.

Can/Should we trade-in the Mazda for say, a Honda CRV or Mazda Tribute, and end up with a new 5-year lease at a similar payment (about $300/mo.)? Or will we need to put more $$ down?

We put 7K down on the Mazda and still owe $13.5K on the loan (at 6.6% over 60 mo.), and also have an '04 Honda Civic as a second car that is 4K away from being paid off.

We can handle two car payments (approx. $400-$500) - and will need two cars.

Thanks in advance for any steering.

Comments

• stallionrestallionre Member Posts: 205
    jbmazda,

I have the CRV and love it. I also have the Mazda 3 GT Sedan and love that also. My wife and I are also school teachers and she hase the Nissan Altima and loves that. I suggest getting the CRV. I love Honda's, simply becuase they are awesome SUV's and are made in Japan. You can never go wrong with a "J" car. I can't tell you enough that I am fond of "J" cars.
    Try looking into a Honda Odyseey. Those are also nice and roomy. Mazda Tribute is also so very nice, it all depends on what you can afford and the options that you are looking for.

I honestly don't think that you can get a SUV for $300.00, maybe you can, not sure. I leased one car in my life and never again becuase I was negative on it and had to pay at the end, which totally sucked.