Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Help Me Choose My Pickup!

rich29_carich29_ca Member Posts: 1
So I'm looking to buy a truck for work. I want a full sized (not small pick-up), used but obviously reliable truck. What are your experiences, what make, model, year. I'm looking to spend 9-11k.

I know people have their fav. makes, but please be impartial and give me your input.

Thanks in Advance,
Rich

Comments

• phatferdphatferd Member Posts: 4
    I am a college student so money is a big issue. I have 5k available to put down on a car and in 5 months I will have 5k extra from a student loan that I am willing to use towards a down payment.

I will have 10k to put down on the car and with my dad's credit (he qualifies for the best) he will co-sign.

My grandfather retired from Ford so I qualify for the Z plan, where I can get a car at 2% under dealer cost and incentives/rebates can be used along with this deal.

I want a small basic level truck that is automatic (dunno how to drive a stick) so with the Z plan I could get a Ranger. I have read some negative things about Rangers. My only experience with them is with an older one that is a friends. It is a 95 and pretty much a POS.

If I had my choice I would take a Tacoma. I have driven an 06 and loved it. However, if the price difference is going to be 4k+ then I would almost be an idiot to turn down the Z plan.

What do some of you experts or people with experience think? I would like to get my monthly payments after 10k down below $100 a month. I can get a 5.0% loan through a credit union if Ford/Toyota doesn't offer a better one.

Thanks guys, btw I love this site.
  • bkwallenbkwallen Member Posts: 5