Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda Fit Interior and Passenger Comfort Concerns

Comments

• brittany493brittany493 Member Posts: 3
    I have had my 2008 Honda Fit Sport since about October. I am finding a serious fault in the way the arm to leg ratio is worked out in the driver's seat. I find that when I put my seat back enough for my legs to be comfortable, I have to over-extend my arms to reach the steering wheel. The only way to have comfortable leg room and not have to over-extend my arms is if the seat is 90 degrees erect, which also isn't comfortable! I drive for a living, 14,000 miles since I bought the car and this is getting really uncomfortable. I have taken to driving with my hands at the bottom of the wheel (7 and 5 instead of 10 and 2). I am a regularly proportioned female. I have had two males also drive my car who reported a similar discomfort. Anyone else having this problem?
  • bobw3bobw3 Member Posts: 2,989
    I think the issue is that some folks with "low" cars like a Civic or Accord are used to stretching out their legs to the pedals, while the Fit's seating position is designed more like a minivan or SUV, where you sit more upright, like in a chair, with bent legs to the pedals. I think it's just a matter of getting used to this type of seating position. I found the Toyota Matrix to have a similar seat/pedal position. That being said, a seat height adjuster and telescoping steering would be nice. This type of seating/steering position is what keeps the Fit so short. Look how much longer a Civic is even though it doesn't have anymore space inside for passengers or cargo.
  • jacksan1jacksan1 Member Posts: 504