Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Performance Modules and Chips

snowbrom21snowbrom21 Member Posts: 21
edited March 2014 in Subaru
So I've got a '07 Subaru Outback XT that I would like to spend a little money on. The thing is pretty quick off the lot with 245hp from a turbocharged 2.5L boxter engine. I was clicking around on Ebay and saw a great deal of posts for "Performanc Modules" and "Chips" that people are selling for around $10.

Now I'm not technical genius, but I know that it took a lot more than $10 to squeeze horsepower out of my '67 Mustang Fastback.

Has anyone ever tried any of these products? I'm curious on how well they work, or if they work at all.

Thoughts? Comments? Jokes?

Comments

• paisanpaisan Member Posts: 21,181
    They are bogus.

I have an 05 Legacy GT which essentially is the same car as you have.

Before I did/do any power upgrades, you will want to address upgrading your brakes, and suspension. These aren't $10 mods either.

-mike
  • snowbrom21snowbrom21 Member Posts: 21
    That's what I figured. where would you recommend i start? any specific manufacturers you would recommend?
    depends what you want to do with your car. Street? Track? Auto-x? Drag? etc.

From there we can really hone in on what items would be most beneficial.

What kind of tires do you have? Stock? All Season? etc.

That's a great place to start, cause tires will effect your handling and speed in a huge way.

-mike
  • bench5bench5 Member Posts: 1
    what about older cars? I have a 84 528e that could use a little bump just for fun. I cant find a chip (cheap or expensive) fro my ECU. can I switch out ecu? I have seen items that attach at oxygen sensor . Any opinion on those?
  • b33tl3boyb33tl3boy Member Posts: 3
    i have an 01 beetle sport with a 1.8t. i am looking for a web site to get it chiped asap i have a race in 3 weeks that i need to win