Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Pathfinder Transmission Problems

Comments

• telephonytelephony Member Posts: 8
    Basically Nissan is taking a calculate risk here. By slightly extending the warranty and caring for just enough failure cases, their hope is they will calm enough of the masses and avoiding a recall. If they would have recalled the radiators immediately upon knowledge of the defect, this would have saved them from dealing with numerous transmission replacements and customer satisfaction concerns.

According to DOT, the average driver in the US drives 13,476 miles a year. It is interesting to note on the NissanAssist website that the CVT warranty extension is 12y/120,000m.

I am no lawyer, but hope someone with legal expertise can comment on the class action lawsuit. It seems like potentially one needs to opt out if they find the terms unacceptable and can attend a Fairness Hearing on March 14, 2013 in White Plains, NY.

http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/ohim/onh00/bar8.htm
    http://www.nissanassist.com/web/CVT/index.php?menu=8
    http://www.nissanatoilcoolersettlement.com/Documents/NNS0001/Preliminary%20Appro- val%20Order(2).pdf
  • lauracpalmerlauracpalmer Member Posts: 35
    I was pleased to see at least this and emailed it to my husband. He called me immediately after and we agreed that we have to think about it but maybe getting $2500.00 to $3000.00 out of the $6000.00 we paid is better than nothing. Then I read the class action lawsuit attached.

The agreement for the "eligible" customers to be reimbursed for previous replacement and repair it appears you had to be part of the class action suit, which is at the bottom of the page.