Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Why Is Diesel Fuel So Expensive?

hpmctorquehpmctorque Member Posts: 4,600
In some states and localities, diesel fuel costs more than premium gasoline. Why? I thought less refining is required to produce diesel fuel than gasoline. In Europe diesel costs less than gasoline, so maybe it's a political and tax issue.

Also, will increased demand for diesel fuel, resulting from increased sales of diesel vehicles in the future, have the unintended effect of increasing the price of heating oil, similar to how greater ethanol production drove up the price of corn?

Comments

• jlawrence01jlawrence01 Member Posts: 1,757
    It goes in cycles. At times over the past three years, diesel has been considerably LESS than unleaded gasoline.

I am NOT a petroleum expert. However, from what I have read, the price of diesel is affected by strong demand for heating oil which is the fuel of choice for heating homes in the New England and Midatlantic regions.
  • texasestexases Member Posts: 10,685
    Yes, supply and demand. I imagine the new low-sulfur requirements has tightened supplies.

Also, there's more BTUs in diesel, so on an energy-content basis, it should cost more.
  • andys120andys120 Member Posts: 23,370
    However, from what I have read, the price of diesel is affected by strong demand for heating oil which is the fuel of choice for heating homes in the New England and Midatlantic regions.

This makes some sense, Inhave read that automotive diesel oil is similar to #2 heating oil. In New England the price of both shoots up in winter and declines in Spring. It is cheaper than 87 Octane in summer but in winter it's almost as much as 93 RON.

2001 BMW 330ci/E46, 2008 BMW 335i conv/E93

• tpetpe Member Posts: 2,342