Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

question about title and ownership for classic cars

jjhardyjjhardy Member Posts: 5
Hi all. I'm new to the classic car scene so I've got some questions that I hope you guys can me with. Hopefully I will be able to join the ranks soon enough!

My question is about how to properly establish ownership (title, registration etc) for an older car. I have agreed in principle to buy a car (a 69 Chevy) from someone in PA. I live in NY, where 1973-and-older cars are not issued titles, but are issued transferable registrations ("transferable" part for ownership, "registration" part for road operation).

So the situation is that the seller does not have paperwork in their name (the previous owner is dead, and the seller came into possession of the car).

My question is: what needs to be done/ what is the proper paper work so that I can have legal ownership of the car and properly register it in NY? Does anyone know? Also, any advice on the steps I need to take before I can drive it home (example: register it, insure it and get plates) is VERY much appreciated. As you can see, I need all the advice I can get.

Looking forward to the advice and help. Sorry for the story. Thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• andre1969andre1969 Member Posts: 25,652
    I live in Maryland, and bought a couple cars from Pennsylvania. One thing I remember that was a bit annoying is that the transaction had to be handled on the PA side by a Notary Public. They would oversee the transaction, witnessing the signatures and putting their seal on the paperwork, including the bill of sale. They would also issue a temporary tag on the spot. I think it's a 30 day tag.