Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2009 Jeep Compass

irismgirismg Member Posts: 345
edited March 2014 in Jeep
I hope nobody minds, but I didn't see anybody discussing this car yet and so started a new topic.

Today, I went to Bob Howard Chrysler Jeep Dodge, on Sunday when the sales people are not there, of course, and found the row of 2009 Compass Sport 4x2s. They didn't have any Limiteds, nor did I see any 4x4s.

I'm a longtime Toyota Corolla driver, so I'm used to nice interiors. I'm not talking Lexus nice, but a nicer grade velour cloth material, better than the stuff GM uses in their Chevrolet line. I'd read some nasty stuff about the "hard plastic" interior of the earlier Compass models. I understood what some reviewers meant regarding all the plastic. It turns me off, as well, and I'd seen and felt the interior of the Dodge Caliber and definitely didn't like it. It wasn't classy at all.

Anyway, as luck would have it, I found a tan-colored Compass Sport 4x2 that was unlocked, so I got into it and sat for a while. I was pleasantly surprised by the 09 Compass interior in that it wasn't like Caliber at all. Instead of a cheesy garish silver-plastic console, this one's was all black and almost elegant. While some reviews lamented how hard the plastic armrests were, I found nothing hard about the 09's armrests. They were still plastic, but they FELT good and have a texture and give to them. The whole dash does. Even the steering wheel doesn't have that Chevrolet-cheap feel to it.

In all, I felt that while this was a car that was designed to be useful and therefore easy to take care of, it wasn't so low-class as to be tacky! It makes me wonder what value the Limiteds offer, because the Sports are very well equipped already.