Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Rating the pick-up on your Milan

mustangpaul05mustangpaul05 Member Posts: 5
edited April 2014 in Ford
I have a V6 Premiere and want to see what others feel about the acceleration.

I'm paranoid that its slower than it should be because it was a previous rental. Getting in the gas seems to KILL the MPG on my car.

Comments

• mtnman1mtnman1 Member Posts: 431
    Do you have the 4 or 6 cylinder I have an '09 Fusion SEL V6 and the tires are easily spun if I accelerate too quickly. The car definitely kicks butt for what some people consider less horse power than other competitors. I think it must be due to the amount of torque the Ford engine has maybe. I don't know I'm not a car expert, but I've owned many vehicles in my 52 years and the V6 has plenty of off the line acceleration. It surprised me the first time I test drove one. I was expecting a sluggish response because of some of the negative reviews I had read. It jerked the steering wheel out of my hand and I veered partially into the next lane. Luckily there wasn't a car or truck in that lane. Any vehicles MPG will be reduced by driving aggressively. I suggest you accelerate more slowly and smoothly and you will be fine.
    2012 Highlander Limited AWD V6 and 2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid SE
  • mustangpaul05mustangpaul05 Member Posts: 5
    I have the v6. I just took her for a spin, not much tire spinning going on but its real cold (which i think should help a little slip)...

I cant imagine its because i have good michelins on there, maybe its part of the reason. It also KILLS my gasmilage when I floor it from stop
  • explorerx4explorerx4 Member Posts: 19,304
    i have an 07 fusion sel v6.
    there seems to be a correlation between the average speed and gas mileage.
    the lower the average speed(stop and go), the lower the gas mileage.