Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2000 Montana cuts out

cbishcbish Member Posts: 2
edited April 2014 in Pontiac
I just had my tranny rebuild and it was still showing codes to replace computer which the mechanic did and reprogrammed. I had the van back for 2 days and while driving it cut out 4 times as well as shifting hard again. Any idea what it could be?

Comments

• kenniekennie Member Posts: 38
    Curious what he did... did he replace trany with rebuilt or did he replace only complents in it? What was happening with the trany to begin with (if he fixed it). Selinoids may be worn and he didn't replace all of them - this is one cause of hard shifting after the computer realises the trany is slipping... but if detects slippage right away then could it be computer/programming related? Not sure and i'm no expert but mine has been hard shifting for sometime and need new one (compuer reports selinoid problem and slipping).
  • cbishcbish Member Posts: 2
    My husband told me that they replaced only componets in the tranny not rebuilt. We have 149,000 miles and it was shifting hard and slipping and shuttering, we would turn the key let it cycle then start for the past yr but it was getting to where it did not matter about that and shifted hard all the time. So we took it in and it came up with code 1811.
    we dropped it off again to the mechanic and he said no codes at all on computer. On our way home it shifted hard again in to 2nd gear. The computer that was replaced was a remanufactured one with a 18,000 mile 1 yr warranty as well.
    I know the PCM was replaced on the tranny.
    The mechanic said that it drove fine for them. But we only had it back 2 days and it also cut out 4 times. We may take it to GM to evaluate.
  • kenniekennie Member Posts: 38