Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Liberty '02 won't run over 25mph

arr828arr828 Member Posts: 4
edited May 2014 in Jeep
It just happened tonight and I am in panic mode. Can't go to work tomorrow, if I can't drive on the highway! =( And I don't think I can with my jeep crawling a mere 25mph.

My axles have been recently changed, and so was my radiator because it had a leak. I've been running on these new parts for a couple of months now and no problems until today. I read somewhere here that they had issues only when the weather was warmer and smooth sailing during the colder months? But I've had this Jeep for a year now and got it right around this time when the weather's pretty crazy (cold then hot). I seriously wonder if it even has anything to do with me missing a gear! HELP please? I'm scared to drive it because I feel like the engine's dying on me or seomething and I might do some serious damage by pushing it.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• tidestertidester Member Posts: 10,059
    Can you give a little more detail? What does the engine sound like when this is happening? Are you losing electrical power? When you say "missing a gear," do you mean your transmission is not working? Are you getting visible exhaust from the back end? Are you hearing any strange noises?

tidester, host
    SUVs and Smart Shopper
  • arr828arr828 Member Posts: 4
    Hi, thanks for your reply tidester.