Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Jeep Wrangler

Comments

• wildbl1500wildbl1500 Member Posts: 48
    I am new to the Jeep world. I just purchased a '01 Wrangler Sport. It came w/ the 30" Goodyear tire package. Does anyone know if 31" BFG T/A KOs will fit w/ stock suspension and not hit anything?
  • tsjaytsjay Member Posts: 4,591
    Welcome!

If you are talking 31 x 10.50's, yes, they will work, but it's possible that you would need to add a washer or two behind your steering stops to prevent rubbing the inside of the tires on the control arms at full turn. That didn't turn out to be necessary for me when I was running the 31 x 10.50 BFG All Terrain T/A KO's on my Jeep with no lift.

I'm assuming that you are still running factory wheels with 5.5" backspacing. If you have the factory Canyon wheels, then you have 5.5" backspacing.

If you are gonna wheel that Jeep and want to disconnect your front sway bar, then you MIGHT rub the flares at full tire stuff, but it should be minor, if you rub at all.

Here's a pic of my 01 Sport when she was "wearing" 31 x 10.50 BFG AT's.

Make yourself at home here, wildbl1500!

Tom

Have you hugged your Jeep today?

P.S. I don't know how you plan to use your Jeep, but if you are gonna wheel it, then you might want to consider the BFG Mud Terrains in the same size. I kept my All Terrains for only 6K miles and traded them in on the Muds. It depends on the type of terrain, of course, but the Muds do a much better job for me on the trails. All Terrains are notoriously poor in mud, since the treads do not self clean very well. I am not a fan of mud, and I avoid it when I can, but where I wheel, there's not a way around every mud hole, so I need the advantage of the mud tires. The BFG Muds are good in loose soil as well as in mud. Besides, a Jeep looks much more macho when it has Muds on it! :)