Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Halts Sales of Popular Models - Accelerator Stuck Problem Recall

Comments

• mlocamloca Member Posts: 15
    Like my boat or father's 1931 Model A; install a kill switch.

Problem solved and I'm not an engineer.
    I do know that products have firmware issues and this would mitigate the problem.
  • sharonklsharonkl Member Posts: 660
    A kill switch has been mentioned on these blogs befroe. One person did do it. And reported back.
    What you requested. I took time to search among my bookmarks for this one by LA Times to help you. Rest of of what you are requesting, it's out there. Please search the multiple safety agency site, NHTSA, etc. And Edmunds has done two data studies of SUA/UA incidents. Other studies exist, as well. .

Toyota is already coming back. Latest news in market financial section reveals such. Edmunds also.

Good luck
  • kernickkernick Member Posts: 4,072
    looking at the total number of deaths in a certain manufacturer's vehicles, regardless of the cause.

Probably the single worst vehicle for fatalities on a per vehicle-basis would be a Dodge Viper, which can't have UA as it is only a manual. :D How does your suggestion help since that would include all accidents?
  • mickeyrommickeyrom Member Posts: 936
    I was reading your post with great interest.I was nodding my head..."yeah,that's right man,right on"....until the very end.I have read somewhere,maybe on the Toyota site,that you should NOT use your "parking brake" which is often called emergency brake, in such a situation.First put it into neutral,and then you can hold down the start button for 3 secs.Actually 2 will do it,I think. :blush:
  • andres3andres3 Member Posts: 13,729
    It helps put things in perspective.