Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Downshifting on 2011 Legacy (manual)

tmcgrottytmcgrotty Member Posts: 10
Hi, I have been driving manual / stick shift for 40+ years and purchased a AWD 2011 legacy six months ago. There is currently 6500 miles on the clock.

Every so often I get a faint smell like burning breakpads / clutch. I initially thought it was just the fact it was a 'new car' and some coatings on the underside were being 'burned in' but now I think it could be the clutch. Anyone aware of issues with the clutch on 2011 Legacy?

This is my first AWD so maybe I should not be downshifting on an AWD and just put the wear on the breakpads?

By the way in those 40+ years of driving I never once burned out a clutch even when towing (not towing anything yet on the 2011).

Maybe they arn't making clutches like the used too? Last car was a Mitsubishi 3000 GT manual, sold it at 120k with origional clutch in it.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Comments

• rshollandrsholland Member Posts: 19,788
    edited January 2012
    What was the traction condition when you noticed the smell?

I have a '09 WRX (5-speed manual), and when I'm trying to free myself from deep snow, I've noticed that smell. I also noticed it once when gently trying to climb a sidewalk curb.

What I think is happening is that the traction control may be intruding. The car applies the brake to the wheel with the least traction, or what it thinks has the least traction, and you get that foul smell. If you turn off the traction control (switch on lower left dash), that won't occur. At least it works in deep snow. Not sure about climbing curbs, as I haven't done that in a couple of years. Once you're free from the questionable traction condition, turn the traction control back on.

Bob
  • tmcgrottytmcgrotty Member Posts: 10