Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Car runs badly in cold weather

craniumcranium Member Posts: 40
edited March 2014 in Buick
Ok, I've got a 1989 Buick Century, that I will be using for a winter car this year. I drove it for almost the whole month in August, and 2-3 times per week in September, to make sure all the bugs were out before the snow flies, and my other car goes in the garage for hibernation. Through out this test period, I ran into few problems, which I have now sorted. But, since the cold weather is upon us, it has started to run real lumpy, and stall.

It starts fine, and drives fine, but once I come to a stop, or I take my foot off the gas, it stalls. Once stalled, It starts immediatly, but also dies immediately. It has new plugs, wires, and fuel filter as of 12/01. It sounds as though it is mis-firing but I have no knowledge as to prove this. It has a distrubitorless ignition, so I cannot replace the cap and rotor. This system is foreign to me, and I have no idea how to adjust it.

I don't understand why this only happens when it is cold. (the weather, not the engine) This only happens when the temp is in the low 50's or less..

Please help

Comments

• craniumcranium Member Posts: 40
    While I was under the hood this weekend, I thought that maybe it wasn't getting air (old air filter), so I took it off, and like usual it stalled (no difference with or without filter), but when it stalled, it coughed!! I acutally saw smoke, or something come out of the throttle body!

Is this a lead as to what the problem might be?
  • lancerfixerlancerfixer Member Posts: 1,284