Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Volvo C70 Audio System Problems

couchguycouchguy Member Posts: 3
edited August 2014 in Volvo
i have a 98 C70 Coupe, for the first time ever, i tried playing a CR-RW in the CD_changer, and the system would not read it, instead it went on to load the next CD that was in the changer. id like to know if this is a defect from my system, or if the CD-RW i used is no good, or if the CD player system will not read ANY CD-RWs
thanks for the help guys

Comments

• tmarttmart Member Posts: 2,233
    It could be the CD. I'm no expert, but for music/audio, I think CD-R's are supposed to be used, not the CD-RW's. They are for data. I have a '99 convertible with the SC-901 and have had no problem with the CD-R's I've burned.
  • avolvofanavolvofan Member Posts: 358
    I agree with tmart. My own experience backs up the CD-R working and the CD-RW not working. I think that there is a different laser bandwidth that is used in the CD-RW units that is not compatible with the audio CD player laser.
  • schuhcschuhc Member Posts: 333
    I usually have 18 to 20 tracks on my cds. I have an HP cd burner and use the program that comes with it. I have noticed that since I upgraded (or downgraded) my system to Windows XP from Win98 that it takes a couple of seconds for the cd player to 'catch' on the new cds that I created. The old cds work fine however so I think that XP did something to the software that I use to burn the cds. The two programs that I hear are best (albeit for software and perhaps not mp3's) are.....
    Adaptec
    Nero (think it is 'cd Rom-burning') as in Rome is burning or something.
  • windwardwindward Member Posts: 2