Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Toyota Matrix Handling & Suspension Questions

jcnaderjcnader Member Posts: 3
edited May 2014 in Toyota
I'm new to the Toyota experience and hope to get some comments on a concern. Before discussing the only negative reaction I have (after 2500 mi.) I'll say that the mileage is good, 31-33 MPG with auto trans. and I like the functionality of the vehicle. My concern is handling at highway speeds, 65-70 MPH. The vehicle "floats" slightly from side to side requiring constant steering correction. It's almost like the toe adjustment is too neutral. I didn't expect this drivability problem because Toyota has very high quality marks and the XR I purchased has the optional P215/50R17 90H M&S Bridgestone Potenza tires on nice alloy rims. I assumed it would track great and have excellent feel at highway speeds with these low profile tires. Anyone else having a similar problem with their Matrix XR?

Comments

• Options
    midnite2midnite2 Member Posts: 6
    I'm new to Toyota too. Only have 8,000 miles and bought '04XR new Jan'04. I have p205/55r16 and find it very disconcerting to have to pay so much attention to staying in the center of the lane on the freeways ("floats" covers it). I find the tires don't hold air for long either.
    My major complaint, however, is that I barely get 20 mpg in town, 24-26 mixed and hi 20's to 30 only on 3 frwy trips. I chart every fill-up.
    Toyota says that's OK and I'm stuck with it. "Factory techs" come to the dealership, hook it up to the computer, sip on their Starbuck's and wait for the computer printout that states "no problem here". I loved my '88 Accord hatchback and will hurry back to Honda ASAP. Quality & good Customer Service were promised but never delivered by Toyota. I think I got a lemon!
  • Options
    herzogtum71herzogtum71 Member Posts: 470