Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Escape Mazda Tribute Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• traveldavetraveldave Member Posts: 2
    Although I've been reading this thread for a while, this is my first time to post. I've had a 2001 Tribute for almost 2 years (about 27,000 miles).

In post 1615, Jetfly65 wrote:
    "My recent problem has been a hissing air noise whenever I take my foot off the brake pedal. I took it into the dealership and they said that this is a normal sound for this braking system (even though it never made this noise the first year of ownership). They also said that they checked new models on the lot and they also make the same noise."

I have recently started noticing the same noise in my car when I let off the brake pedal. The dealership says this is normal, but I'm surprised it took so long for a "normal" noise to appear. Any other people have this noise or have thoughts on it?

Dave
  • scape2scape2 Member Posts: 4,123
    but someone had mentioned a clicking noise when you release and engage the brake pedal. This is a noise I never noticed after owning my Escape for 2 years and 19,000 miles! I had to really listen for the click of the relay...
  • ke4yydke4yyd Member Posts: 30
    Ford says the tranny fluid is good for life but I flushed it anyway at 40,000 mi and it cured my chatter also. Here is the email a Ford tech sent me.

"To confirm the Ford Customer Relations line answer, I have been told by
    Customer Service and the transmission folks that for normal customer use,
    the CD4E transmission fluid is good essentially for the life of the vehicle,
    to be checked and changed at 150,000 miles as indicated on page 33 of the
    scheduled maintenance guide (CD4E falls into the "other" category)."
  • bri66bri66 Member Posts: 220