Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Dodge Avenger Starting and Stalling Problems

adiox900adiox900 Member Posts: 1
edited January 2014 in Dodge
Im new to this whole forum thing and all, but as a suggestion from a dealership who is enangering me, I made an effort to come and and try to figure somthing out. I have a 98 Avenger ES Auto. I aquired the car for very cheap, and I was currentley attempting to restore it to a nice, driveable car. When I picked the car up, it had a slgitht starting problem, just wouldnt seem to get enough gas to start. Also, (the main problem) while driving, if I was to hit the gas pedal about a 1/3 of an inch to far, the car would poop. When I say poop, I mean engine bogging out, and a few awkward noises would be propelled from the engine. We have replacd numerous things, such as the fuel pumps, a couple sensors which I am not 100% sure which ones, and have also done a full tune up, including wires, plugs, cap and rotor. I have all new fluids in the car, new fuel filter and some other odds and ends. Im in desperate need of an opinion of someone, becuase obviously the mechanics at my moms work dont know the difference between there [non-permissible content removed] and a hole in the ground. The car is becoming a major inconvience, and we are looking to find the solution so it can be replaced and start being driven again. If anyone has any help, please suggest away!!!!

Comments

• avenger4avenger4 Member Posts: 1
    ive had my avenger for bout 3 months and i have random stalling problems at idle and at higher rpms when im driving the odd time it will jerk as if its goin to die. no check engine lite but i took it into a shop and they told me my throttle body line was plugged and they cleaned it out and it still stalled then they said it was electrical. wondering if nebody had ne solutions to my problem
  • finfan203finfan203 Member Posts: 1