Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Altima Brake Questions

lin928lin928 Member Posts: 3
Purchased car new and it has 35,000 miles on it. When I step on the brakes, the brake lights don't go on. Rear window light does work - tail lights work. Was recently close to getting rear-ended and this may be why. Checked fuse which is okay - is it possible that both lights went out simultaneously? Any help is appreciated as I know it will be dangerous to drive it at all this way.

Comments

• jd10013jd10013 Member Posts: 779
    not only is it extreemly dangerous, it's illegal. cop catches you, might have the car towed and tell you to walk home. I'm no mechanic, but from past experience I'd say, that since its both not working, its probably an electrical problem. If it were just a bulb, I don't think you'd loose both of them. My guess (and nothing more than a guess) is that it might have something to do with the brake pedal. there's probably something on it that sets off the lights when the pedal is depressed and may be malfunctioning
  • lin928lin928 Member Posts: 3
    Thank you for your reply. I decided to have someone follow me to my mechanics in the morning. He replaced brake pads right before I was nearly hit from behind. I wonder if that had something to do with it. If not, I trust that he will give me an honest answer if he can figure it out.
  • patpat Member Posts: 10,421
    Let us know what happens!
  • lin928lin928 Member Posts: 3