Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Can fees add up to over $3,000?

robfocus2014robfocus2014 Member Posts: 7
edited July 2014 in Ford

I recently bought a brand new 2014 Ford Focus SE. I won't name the dealership just in case because they told me that Ford can be pretty harsh to sales people if a customer complains. But I'm trying to figure out if I was too gullible, seeing that I'm not that good with numbers and I was a bit too anxious to get the car, or if the excessive amount of fees on top of the car price are normal.

The car, as it was advertised on the dealer's website, was $19,833. Actually it showed as:

List price: $21,430
You save: $1,547
Now: $19,883

On In that page, of which I still have the print-out, it doesn't show any fees, and the only small print talks about the features in the vehicle. But from that value of $19,833 they jumped me to a value of $23,588.60, meaning there is a difference of $3,705.60.

I must admit that I don't have much experience buying cars, since I lived in a big city with public transportation most of my life, and the only other car I had before was a used car that someone else made the deal for me, so my lack of experience in this probably played a part. However, perhaps this is an honest dealership (it is one of the biggest in the area) and this is the way it usually goes, meaning there are several thousand dollars in added fees to the list price of a car. So for someone kind enough to keep reading and take a look at these values, I would like to know if I got ripped off or not, if only to learn something for next time I have to buy a car.

I have two documents showing the price on them with different fees. In each document, the total selling price is way different. In one of the documents, which doesn't have a title but it's printed on pink thin paper, it has a total selling price of 20,999. Added to that are: