Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Auto Stop-Start Conversion - 2014 BMW 328i xDrive Gran Turismo Long-Term Road Test

Edmunds.comEdmunds.com Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 10,315
edited August 2014 in BMW
imageAuto Stop-Start Conversion - 2014 BMW 328i xDrive Gran Turismo Long-Term Road Test

For a while now, I've resisted using auto stop-start. But after using it in our 2014 BMW 328i xDrive Gran Turismo, I'm changing my mind.

Read the full story here

Comments

• Options
    yellowbalyellowbal Member Posts: 234

I'm not an engineer but I think it would be simpler to drive the engine with an electric motor while cutting spark and fuel during stops. Since the engine is still turning and driving the belts, the AC and water pump will still work. Then when the engine needs to actually do work, it can start whenever to add fuel and spark back in.

If such a system exists, it would eliminate all the complaints about start/stop.

• Options
    quadricyclequadricycle Member Posts: 827

The concept is good, current execution needs to be better. It probably will be in time.

Other than that, money saved on fuel is minimal since you're shutting the engine down during a low consumption period, and a car with "stop-start" will be more expensive than one without. The advantages of cutting emissions are very real though, especially since the environments where this kind of system shines are usually the most prone to heavy pollution, such as dense population centers with heavy stop and go traffic for example.

• Options
    fordson1fordson1 Unconfirmed Posts: 1,512

A moment of welcome quiet? Exactly how noisy is the cabin of this BMW at idle in gear? Come on.

• Options
    7driver7driver Member Posts: 145