Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Pathfinder

Comments

• li_sailorli_sailor Member Posts: 1,081
    Drew...you commented on my post re steep driveway in snow (8-10"). You said:

"For uphill sections in deep snow, low range is good. However, keep in mind that with low range, you have over 2 times the amount of torque going to the wheels. This will make them easier to break free on slippery surfaces, and that may cause your vehicle to dig into the ground and get stuck. Just something to be aware of. Have fun in the snow! Wish there was some here..."

I'm not sure what you meant other than that you should keep rpms down for good traction. Did you mean something else/more? Isn't torque always higher the lower the gear? Did you mean I might be better off with 4Hi? I was going 15-20mph, though..isn't Lo better for that speed? I'm new to 4WD so I'm always looking for info. I'm not new to snow though...and I've gotten pretty good at handling a car in snow. Still, it was great to have that mucho extra traction when I needed it. What a difference.
  • wholeinonewholeinone Member Posts: 9
    Well, it finally happen, got a few scratches on the rear bumper, my 8 year was trying to put his bike in the back, could not wait for dad, so there are five scratches, a couple of them are deep enough to show the black of the bumper,I think the others can be rubbed out, can this be fixed by the dealer or take it to a body shop or get some touch up paint from the dealer ?
  • pathy57pathy57 Member Posts: 25