Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Snow/Ice winter tires

Comments

• tiff_ctiff_c Member Posts: 531
    Didn't mean you either. I was going to say the Hakkas would be squirmy, but I didn't because I have no experience with them. I just suspected they might be. I did consider them as well but went with the WR's as I like a tire I don't have to mount/dismount due to weather. Due to its' over protective traction control, the Prius needs all the traction it can get!

Yeah I have a LOT of experience with the Hakkas and soon it will be RSi's and they are awesome in the snow but useless in warm weather. I was considering the WR's but my Rex has done such a great job but really I'm holding on in case I get a Christmas bonus but I will have buy something soon. I'll be over 200K miles before long and I've had to stop using the WRX for work to keep the miles down on it.
    I hate to mount and dismount tires but usually the snows go on in November at some point and come off 1st week of april or a bit sooner if it's warm enough.
    The WR's would be great on a Prius but might eat into your economy a bit. but since it's a city car you probably wouldn't lose much.

I suspect there would be a difference in deep snow between the Hakkas and the WR's, with the Hakkas outperforming the WR's, but only there and on dry roads, where the WR outperforms the Hakka. Compromise compromise. But we don't get deep snow here, usually only small amounts at a time, and usually dry snow. It then turns to ice with traffic driving on it. Six months of that.