Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Newbie here...what makes most financial sense in my situation? Lease end/buying

nellie06nellie06 Member Posts: 11
edited April 2015 in General
We have a 2012 Hyandai Sonata we've been leasing for 3 years. Lease ends in 2 weeks and residual value is 13200 to buy. We also own a 2008 Acura MDX with 65K miles on it which will be payed off 07/2016.

Within the next year, we will be purchasing a minivan but trying to determine the best time to do it. Can anyone weigh in on pros/cons of these options?

1. Buy Sonata, avoid 400$ disposition fee. Trade it in next year when purchasing Minivan
2. Buy Minivan, turn in Sonata now. No trade ins.
3. Buy Sonata, trade in MDX and buy Minivan.

My husband does not want to go with option 3 since it's almost paid off with low mileage and we will have it for many years.

Anything I am missing here...car buying is definitely not my strong suit, so any and all opinions welcome.

Answers

• MichaellMichaell Moderator Posts: 240,118
    nellie06 said:

We have a 2012 Hyandai Sonata we've been leasing for 3 years. Lease ends in 2 weeks and residual value is 13200 to buy. We also own a 2008 Acura MDX with 65K miles on it which will be payed off 07/2016.

Within the next year, we will be purchasing a minivan but trying to determine the best time to do it. Can anyone weigh in on pros/cons of these options?

1. Buy Sonata, avoid 400$ disposition fee. Trade it in next year when purchasing Minivan
    2. Buy Minivan, turn in Sonata now. No trade ins.
    3. Buy Sonata, trade in MDX and buy Minivan.

My husband does not want to go with option 3 since it's almost paid off with low mileage and we will have it for many years.

Anything I am missing here...car buying is definitely not my strong suit, so any and all opinions welcome.