Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Do You Like LaneWatch? - 2016 Honda Civic Long-Term Road Test

Edmunds.comEdmunds.com Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 10,315
edited June 2017 in Honda
imageDo You Like LaneWatch? - 2016 Honda Civic Long-Term Road Test

Most new Hondas like our 2016 Honda Civic are now available with the LaneWatch blind-spot camera. Have you tried it? What did you think of it?

Read the full story here

Comments

• kirkhilles1kirkhilles1 Member Posts: 863
    Umm, I don't know. I was hoping you would tell me. I don't own a 2016 Civic, was I supposed to buy one? How about telling us at least your initial impressions.
  • ebeaudoinebeaudoin Member Posts: 509
    edited February 2016
    I've been selling Hondas for two years and I've got mostly positive feelings about it. LaneWatch debuted on the 2013 Accord EX and above. Before Honda, I sold Toyotas. Toyota has invested more in the Blind Spot Monitoring on both sides, where Honda has reserved BSM for the Elite trims of Pilot and 2014+ Odyssey.

LaneWatch is very useful on the highway when merging or changing lanes. It's also nice around town to see if a cyclist is approaching. However, if I owned a car with it, I would switch it so that LaneWatch only turned on when activated by the button on the end of the turn signal stalk. I don't need it for every right turn.

The #1 question I get from customers is "why isn't there LaneWatch on the driver side?" Simple- Honda thought it would be counter-intuitive to look at a screen to the right of you for an image of what is approaching on the left side. LaneWatch is designed to SUPPLEMENT (NOT replace) the passenger-side rearview mirror. The idea is that you glance at the LaneWatch image on your way to checking your mirror before merging.