Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Volkswagen Jetta Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• pica1pica1 Member Posts: 23
    I'm glad I can finally listen to the Tribe on the commute home from work...

Then again, given their talent/experience level this year, maybe not ;-)

That's what I meant by the Cubs remark -- I was thinking back to the hapless Cubs of the '80s. Today, they're much better, while it's going to take a looonng time for the Indians to get back to late '90s form.

Mark
  • dunoondunoon Member Posts: 10
    Hello--I'm a newbie here. I have owned 3 VW's (my favorite still being my 1980 Rabbit) and currently have a 2001 Jetta TDI with 72,000 miles (I have a very long commute).
    The TDI does make a lovely whistle sound. It reminds me of a sound the 1973 Super Beetle that my husband owned made.
    Ok--on to my question. I am curious as to when it is recommended to replace glow plugs. I asked the dealer about this and he said they should last until 100,000 miles. The maintenance book does not mention glow plug replacement. Is it something that is done at a certain mileage or just when problems are experienced??
    Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Stacey
  • bpeeblesbpeebles Member Posts: 4,085
    (dunoon) You may be confusing the "glow plugs" with sparkplugs in a gasoline engine.

The "glow plugs" are simply electric heating elements... if they still get hot, why replace them? Do you replace the heater elements on your stove after heating 100 pots of soup? OF COURSE NOT If they get hot when you turn them on, they are doing their job.
  • jettaowner2jettaowner2 Member Posts: 1
    I own a 2000 Jetta VR6. My trunk no longer latches/locks. Has anyone had this problem and do you have any advice for me?
  • sarahmillersarahmiller Member Posts: 1