Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Is the Gen 1 Sienna the right vehicle for me ?

namenloser22namenloser22 Member Posts: 2
edited August 2016 in Toyota
Hi,

I am new to the US American car market. In Germany (where I am from) I am driving a 88 230E and a 91 250TD Mercedes. For the next year I am studying in SC and now I am looking for a car.
After quite a bit of research I think the Gen 1 Sienna might be fitting my needs. I don’t need the car for daily commuting since I am living very close to the campus. What I am looking for in the Sienna is:
- A good long distance cruiser who isn’t upset by some runs to shopping malls
- A reliable car, which can be fixed at most repair shops
- A car which fits a 6 foot 6 tall driver
- Decent gas mileage
- A car in which I can camp on longer road trips
The last point is very important for me.
In Europe I am used to camp in in my Mercedes Wagon, although the roof is quite low I can sleep in it. During my stay in the US I am planning some longer road trips and it would be great if I could camp the trunk.
During my recherché I stumbled along those cars:
E300 Mercedes Wagon (first or second gen)
Cons:
Need premium gas
Are not known for reliability in the US (in Germany we say they are unbreakable which I can proof by my own experience as long as you service them often)
Very hard to find
If something breaks really expensive to fix
Honda Odyssey
Pro:
Bigger then Sienna
Better availability
Cons:
Big problems with the transmission?
Needs more fuel?
Chrysler Town and Country
Pros:
Bigger then Sienna
Cons:
Needs more fuel
Not as reliable
What I really like about the Gen 1 Sienna is that it is based on a Camry. During my studies in New Zealand I owned a 93 Toyota Prominent (Which is basically a beefed up Camry) and I loved the car.