Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Volkswagen Jetta Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• fish8fish8 Member Posts: 2,282
    Sounds like you may request VWoA to replace this car.
  • sdm69sdm69 Member Posts: 5
    I have an '06 Jetta 2.5 with XM ( no navigation) and have not had any radio related issues. Works like a charm. Once in a while I get a brief display without the song title, which may be during an update, but the channels always work. Perhaps it's related to the navigation system.
  • pruzinkpruzink Member Posts: 112
    I'm not sure how much this will help you or not, but I read this post somewhere a while back and found it very interesting on how the immobilizer feature works. Hope it sheds some light on your problem:

"As someone who basically gets paid to hotwire cars for a living (I am a 12V electronics installer by trade.... remote starters), I can tell you a few things:

1) Main issue is breakage on the actual antenna wires leading from the reader to the cluster. They are very small...... 28ga or so. In the cold, moving the column a lot will do this.

2) The RFID pellet on the VW keys lives along the outer edge of the key.... for those of you with valet keys, the two halves of the head pop apart. You will see a torpedo shaped glass pellet. This is the RFID pellet. It is in roughly the same location on the switchblade key. It is not accessable without doing major damage to the key (irreparable) on the switchblade key. The antenna around the chamber in the column reads using it's outer edge, like 1/16" or so, and towards the interior of the car. Simply gluing the pellet to the back of the ignition switch, or even the antenna itself will not read. It is an extremely low power, narrow window for the reader (micro watts)....... and the pellet pretty much needs to be within 1/8" of the antennas fronte (visible) side.