Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Car Buying Advice - Purchase, lease, used car fee difference ( Lexus IS f sport )

tom1965tom1965 Member Posts: 54
edited June 2017 in Lexus
I know this came up prior, however I can't locate it. What's the main difference in fees in respect to lease and purchase. For ex. Lease you have your acquisition fee, doc fee, electronic filing fee and tire fee. I'm in California so I pay taxes on payment for lease. 

on a purchase is there an acquisition fee? Also for used car purchase is it the same as a new car purchase in regards to fees?

im looking for an is f sport with upgraded packages not the 300- is it best to buy new or used? This will not be a lease. I've read several articles about individuals purchasing cpo cars and some are salvaged and have major issues. Pricing wise if you I get a big enough discount it would be close in price. I'm not good at purchasing used cars so not sure what to look for. Also online or Craigslist the used cars have salvaged titles as well including being expensive.

thoughts and suggestions please

Best Answer

Answers

• MichaellMichaell Moderator Posts: 240,063
    tom1965 said:

I know this came up prior, however I can't locate it. What's the main difference in fees in respect to lease and purchase. For ex. Lease you have your acquisition fee, doc fee, electronic filing fee and tire fee. I'm in California so I pay taxes on payment for lease. 

on a purchase is there an acquisition fee? Also for used car purchase is it the same as a new car purchase in regards to fees?