Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Dodge Dakota: Problems & Solutions

Comments

• sunburnsunburn Member Posts: 319
    Thanks info dustyk. I've been using the "finger on the input to the cooler" approach to gauge tranny fluid temp. Under most conditions, it's probably in the 100 deg F range. After towing a 3000 lb trailer up hill at 65-70 MPH, it's very warm, but not hot. I would guess around the 120 deg F range. The fluid in the pan is probably a few degrees warmer. So, if I ever see the temp light, I have some serious problems.
  • ferousferous Member Posts: 226
    Hey Todd, when was the last time you had your finger calibrated for checking temperature? As an Engineer, I find the older I get the less accurate my finger is at detecting temperature ranges. 32 degrees F and 212 F are easy to tell, but everything in between gets fuzzy!
    ferous - with my finger, about 90 deg starts to register as warm, while about 120 deg starts to register as hot and 140 starts to get painful. It's a linear interpolation for all temps in between. Since I haven't had to check the temp of baby bath water in a few years, my calibration may be a bit off. But, back when I had to, I was suprised by how well I could do it. In the 90-120 deg range I'm probably better than the below 90 deg range. This was by no means a scientific measurement.
  • livnlrnlivnlrn Member Posts: 76
    Spark plug time, and yes I read all the old posts, but was wondering what people have experienced after having some time on all these types of plugs. So let me hear it, what is the best or at least good enough.
    While you are at it, I am going to be doing the brakes soon so could someone tell me the torque spec on the lug nuts?
    Thanks
  • bpeeblesbpeebles Member Posts: 4,085
    For the 4.7LV8, the Bosch +4 have been reported as working well without being exorbantly expensive (like the Denso Irridum)