Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

P0420 Diagnosis, Bad O2 Sensors, Bad Cat, or Other?

SwarlosSwarlos Member Posts: 2
edited March 2021 in Toyota
I have a 2004 Toyota Corolla that's throwing the P0420 error code, Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold Bank 1. The engine has 300k miles on it, and has been very good to me for a long time. I'm new to auto repair, but I'd like to get the proper diagnosis on this before throwing a lot of money at it.

I put in new spark plugs (NGK 4996) after seeing this code pop up because I did a little bit of research, and that was the cheapest/easiest thing to fix. Plus I couldn't remember how old the spark plugs were. I can try to link a picture of the old spark plugs if anyone thinks it's relevant. They looked worn out to me, but not ashy/oily.

I bought a cheap OBDII scanner to try to figure out exactly what's going on via O2 sensor voltages. For reference I also have a 2006 Corolla with 150k miles to compare O2 sensor readings.

On the 2004 Corolla the upstream sensor reads (after warm up ECT>167F) from 55mv to 780mv at idle with new readings every second or so. On the 2006 the upstream sensor reads from 3.25v to 3.35v at idle with 4-5 readings per second.

The '04 downstream sensor reads from 0mv to 820mv fluctuating about every second with the numbers biased toward the higher end. I have a video of the readings on the '04 sensors if anyone should care to see it. The '06 downstream sensor reads very steads from 500mv to 800mv, the numbers update much less often and slowly creep up while idling rather than bouncing up and down.

The 02 sensors all check out as OK based on the monitor tests on both Corollas. Where to go from here? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    SwarlosSwarlos Member Posts: 2