Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Dodge Dakota - Quad Cab

Comments

• bookittybookitty Member Posts: 1,303
    Bill, I too am not a 4 wheel ABS fan. My Quad Cab has about every options save, automatic transmission, sound upgrade (I seldom listen except for baseball games), leather (I am not comfortable in bucket seats) and 4 wheel ABS. I feel that it lacks the positive feel of alternative systems. As a CDL driver, I was trained to apply braking force by gently pumping the brakes (ABS actually tries to emulate that) and to avoid panic stops whenever and wherever possible by paying close attention to road and driving conditions. And, while this is not always an option, it does eliminate the need for panic braking somewhat. All in all, this is for me an opinion and preference that is for the most part both personal and anecdotal. I have no valid test and/or scientific information, only an opinion.

Bookitty
  • iowabigguyiowabigguy Member Posts: 552
    One of the reasons I special ordered my truck was to get the 4 wheel anti-lock brakes.

All the vehicles I drive at work have 4 wheel anti-lock brakes!

My wife and daughter both drive cars with 4 wheel anti-lock brakes!

For standardization if nothing else I wanted 4 wheel anti-lock on my Quad. I figured in a panic situation I didn't want to have to try to remember what type of brakes the vehicle I was driving had!

Other members of my family also drive the Quad and it is easier to tell them to just stand on the brake pedal and steer around the situation (if possible) than have them try to remember to pump the brakes and keep them on the edge of lockup!

I have a hard enough time making them check to see the tires are still round before driving off.