Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Edmunds Members - Cars and Conversations

Comments

• fintailfintail Member Posts: 57,097
    I had a plate collection when I was a kid, usually gleaned from yard sales. When I was a student and my mom had a blowout yard sale, the plates went.

benjaminh said:

A few times as a kid or teenager when I'd look at old car ads or brochures I'd notice sometimes that they wouldn't include the front license plate. Since where I grew up in California there were front plates I thought the old car art was part of this fantasy world where the car existed without a front license, but that this wouldn't actually happen in the real world. But, of course, as mentioned that is the way things work in several states. What doesn't make sense to me in Kentucky is that we are required to actually replace the rear license plate every few years, which seems a waste. I mean a plate can last the life of the car, and that's the way thing still work in California as far as I know. So in KY we save by not having a front plate, whether that's a good idea or not I don't know, but then that savings is thrown away by making us replace the rear plate periodically.

And hey, am I the only one here who had a license plate collection as a kid? I got them at junk yards, garage sales, and who knows where else. When I was 13 or so my parents convinced me to throw the collection out when we moved.

Anyway, no front license needed for a 54 Pontiac—at least according to this brochure.

edited May 2021
    I saw his recent MB videos. He's amazed it was so cheap, but really he paid a market correct price for that car. The market has never warmed up to old MB sedans, probably due to the high costs to right a neglected car, and that they aren't "sporty". Nice old car he got though, loads of build quality and presence for the money.

fintail said: