Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Crew - Modifications II

Comments

• michael_lee76michael_lee76 Member Posts: 45
    Man, I think I got myself into more trouble than I thought. I purchased Rear Differential Protector for my 2006 Forester from online store to save some money, and now I need to buy a torque wrench and jack stands. (I have never worked on this kind of stuff before...)

any good brand/place for torque wrench/jack stands to buy?
  • davidd4davidd4 Member Posts: 1
    Can anyone give me detailed instructions for removing the radio head unit from 2005 Outback 2.5i Wagon (automatic transmission). I want to install an FM modulator so that I can connect my Sirius satellite radio receiver directly into the the radio. I need to know how to remove the dashboard trim around the radio without damaging the trim. Thanks. davidd4
  • ateixeiraateixeira Member Posts: 72,587
    You can do that job with Rhino Ramps, about $35 at shops like Pep Boys.

They are versatile, and low profile means even my Miata can drive up them for oil changes.

You'll need jack stands to do things like rotate tires and work on brakes.

-juice
    Thanks for your reply, Juice.

I happen to find this in Pepboy, check this out.

Link to Pepboy Ad

Check out the first page item.. Torin Big Red 36" Creeper, 2 ton Double locking jack stands (2 of them), and 2 tone trolley jack for 30 bucks? this sounds like a good deal, but I don't know how good this brand is. Also would 2 ton be good enough for Forester?

Thanks for your help.
  • masanmasan Member Posts: 77
    Thank you, Steve.

I notice that Tire Rack lists wheels with varying offsets for the Forester: +52, +45, +50. There are a few +48's in the more expensive range.

What about the difference in sizes: some are listed as 16 x 6.5; others are 16 x 7 and 16 x 7.5.