Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda Civic: Problems & Solutions

Comments

• iron_chefiron_chef Member Posts: 1
    I had the same problem with my 93 Civic with 220,000 miles on it. Try a new ignition key. I had new key cut and it works perfectly. Mine was cutting out with a half of tank of gas. I was also having symptons of a main relay going bad. The new key fixed everything. The original ignition key was worn out. It's worth a 2 buck try.
  • mbotmbot Member Posts: 6
    I was recently driving my 93' Civic 4dr LX (Canadian model, I don't know what American model this is) in the mountains and bottomed out on a gravel road. I am by no means a mechanic, but from what I can tell, I have cracked an exhaust pipe. Is there any easy way to repair this myself, or is it best to have it looked at by a mechanic? I am trying to avoid paying an arm and a leg to get it fixed, and if possible would like to repair it myself. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    sure just weld it up, unless it is the exhaust manifold itself. A muffler shop can weld a crack....but not a "crush". That would require cutting and piecing, which is probably more trouble than it is worth.
    thanks for the help... now, what is a "crush" vs. a "crack"... and if i have a "crush", is it worth fixing at all, or should i just live with the added noise?
    No, a crushed pipe needs to be fixed as it restricts exhaust flow.
  • civicexse2005civicexse2005 Member Posts: 3
    Hi,Angelm, Thank you for your reply. Could you explain a little more. Since I am going to have the car recheck next tuesday. I would like the dealer to check the right parts. Thank you very much.
  • civicgirl05civicgirl05 Member Posts: 2