Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevrolet/Geo Metro

Comments

• needwheels2needwheels2 Member Posts: 31
    I'm a return-to-college older student and caught onto the idea of buying a geo metro as a poor-girl's low-cost high-mpg "hybrid alternative" to replace my dead mazda 323.

They come up very rarely around here however. Last one listed needed piston rings and that scared me away.

Can anyone give me pointers as to where certain things are soon to fail, like timing belts at what mileage points so when I look at them I know what I'm in for? Thanks for any tips!
  • ggeeooggeeoo Member Posts: 94
    The timing belt is replaced at around 60,000 miles. Pep boys charged me 40.00
    labor I got part for 8.00 on line. The alternator belt and bracket also replaced
    got bracket at junk yard for 5.00 .The rebuilt Alternator cost 50.00 the belt
    8.00 . I have a 1993 Geo with 121,000 miles gets about 30 MPG.
  • stobarstobar Member Posts: 110
    I have a 82 Metro, 3.0 cylinder 1 liter base model with just over 55,000 miles on it. I've noticed that the gears are starting to grind in the lower gear when shifting, moreso in colder weather. I was wondering how do I know when it's time to replace the clutch? Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
  • senormechanicosenormechanico Member Posts: 24
    Although your clutch may need replacement, it could also be that your synchros are weak.
    I need to replace the 1st/2nd synchro on my '95 Geo and the clutch is fine.
    It's nearly impssible to get into 2nd gear when first starting out in the morning, but after it warms up it will go in, but it grinds a bit and downshifting to first or second requires double clutching.

It's a project for the summertime for me.
  • pipemanpipeman Member Posts: 58