Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2000 Toyota Celica GTS

14567810»

Comments

• 6speedwoows6speedwoows Member Posts: 1
    i have and after research so do alot other people have a blown up 00 celica gts. these cars have a transmition problem wich toyota is not willing to adress 2nd has no syncros so the shift from 3rd to 4th could be your last when you accidently get 2nd. i strongly reccomend that if you are looking at the celica steer clear of the 6 speed modle untill toyota can fix this problem. i plan to file a law suite and if any of you would like info please e-mail me at jshuntx2@aol.com p.s. if you have a gts 6 speed and have not blown it up good for you i do not need to hear that i do not know how to drive chances are i am a better driver than you. and you someday will miss that shift garanteed.
  • bcloughbclough Member Posts: 97
    My dealer called, and says that he has found a red Celica with no spoiler! It is sufficiently far away that it'd have to be trucked in. I am amazed. I will go over tomorrow and look at the paperwork (they faxed him the window stickers) and see what results. Wish me luck!

Brenda
  • roadroachroadroach Member Posts: 131
    I'm curious: was the build-date on your car before or after 1/1/00?

Did you get 2nd by accident on an upshift (3rd to 2nd instead of 3rd to 4th) or on a downshift (5th to 2nd instead of 5th to 4th)?

I have noticed that if I try to hurry the shift and don't get it right, the shifter is a little balky. But I can TELL that it is balky and don't release the clutch. So yes, I have missed my shift, several times, but I have always been able to tell when it is not in the right gear so I haven't done any damage.

Sorry to hear about your car.
  • aim9aim9 Member Posts: 9
    Brenda-let us know how it comes out with the car; I'll send you the MN info if you need it. The number is at my office.