Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Saturn S-Series

Comments

• pitbullpitbull Member Posts: 20
    Thanks oneduckstwo!! :)
    Sorry to take so long to reply; I've had a very hectic week.
    I really appreciate the favor!

Well, I went ahead and bought the car; $1400 as promised.
    I probably could have gotten it for a bit less, but the seller is a retired Veteran with a disability, and really needs the money (I'm also a disabled Vet).

I gave the car a more thorough going-over just before writing the check, and I'm convinced it's never had a significant impact, and the paint is all original (looks surprisingly fresh BTW!).
    In addition to everything to everything I mentioned above, it also has all new hoses (at least everything I could find and feel) - radiator, power steering, power brakes, vacuum lines - EVERYTHING!
    Also new ignition wires, coils, and presumably spark plugs as well.
    It feels very much like it has at least new brake pads/shoes - The brakes are excellent; they stop hard with a firm pedal and minimal pedal travel.
    The air filter is clearly brand new (white as snow!).
    I also measured the tires' tread depth - 9/32's - basically brand new as the seller promised (Yokohama AVID Touring - Perfect for this car).
    It really does appear to have had a recent & complete tune-up, although the serpentine accessory belt appears to be reaching the end of it's life (that's a fairly easy fix that I can do in my parking lot).

** Does the 1.9 DOHC have a timing chain? Or belt? :confuse:

I'm also planning a complete back-flush of the coolant, along with a coolant system cleaning chemical beforehand (another simple, if tedious, task).

** Can anyone tell me where the engine block coolant drain is? :confuse:
    I can't afford a shop manual / Chilton's etc. right now.