Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Pontiac Grand Prix - 2000-2005

1818283848587»

Comments

• jabond23jabond23 Member Posts: 3
    I have a very strange problem that has never happened to me before. everyone always gets a kick outta this.

I was driving to work one morning back in early july and went to turn on my a/c to keep me a little cool on the highway. As SOON as i turned it on the fan come on and stayed on. Even if i turned the knob for the speed control to off it would still stay on as well as when i turned the car off and took the key out it stayed on as well. Now i'm not a mechanic by any means, but i do understand the basics of how cars work. I'm pretty sure its an electrical problem but not sure where to look. Its not the switches (for the speed, temp, and vent selection) because once you disconnect them it still stays on. I've checked ALL the fuses and relays and they're all good still. The only way to get the fan to turn off is to disconnect it behind the dashboard where the climate control switch is also plugged in. But because of this i cannot use the a/c, heat, and rear defroster. Not having a/c is ok, but when it starts to get colder out, especially in jersey, its not going to be fun with no heat.

please let me know of any suggestions on the problem as i'm sure a mechanic would have field day with this! thank you!
  • jabond23jabond23 Member Posts: 3
    My stereo has a couple bulbs burnt out as well, none on the dashboard, but not sure if i can just replace the bulbs as well either....
  • kairnskairns Member Posts: 8
    It appears the dealer has to remove the radio and send it out to some after market place to have the bulbs replaced. Too much of a hassle for me and probably tremdously expensive as well. I'll simply live with a couple of missing radio button lights.
  • rialto88rialto88 Member Posts: 2