Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Kia Forte 5-door

2»

Comments

• Options
    compensatecompensate Member Posts: 212
    edited April 2011
    I have been driving my 2001 Hyundai Elantra GT for almost 10 years. I've racked up almost 250,000 miles on the most reliable car I have ever owned. I still have the original rear struts, water pump, thermostat, alternator, and MANY other parts. I did have to replace 3 of the 4 wheel bearings, but that was after 200,000 miles. And I am a bit of a spirited driver, too, so I don't exactly take it easy on my cars (except that my cars get great maintenance). I currently get about 33 mpg highway, not bad considering the EPA number is 32 mpg. :)

I am making a move to a new car because I am just beginning to hear a little manual tramission whinning on cold mornings, I am going to need to replace the valve cover gasket soon, have a crack in the front windshield, recently developed a pesky vacuum line problem (only making engine run slightly rough right now and fuel economy is barely affected), and have some minor clunking noise on front passenger side that no one has been able to figure out (beginning to suspect front strut looseness or damage). I also need new tires soon, so decided it was time to say goodbye to my old friend. I will miss her and her nice leather seats!!

I have decided to replace my beloved Elantra GT with the 2011 Kia Forte 5-Door after reviewing hundreds of pages of car forums on at least 20 different models of compact cars. Here are my reasons:

(1) I wanted a hatchback, preferably one that did not look too much like a wagon. This eliminated the Hyundai Elantra Touring, which looks way too boxy for me; plus it is still using the old engine technology from 2001. The Forte is the best looking compact 5-door on the current market in my opinion, as well as one of the roomiest.