Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Brakes ... Honda 98 V6 accord

sallyfishsallyfish Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Honda
Sorry if this in a mis-placed question but I
didn't want to get into the Honda vs. all other
vehicle Quality thread and the other Honda Brake
thread is close. (posted a q on the Brake thread
and now it seems to have vanished)

I've just taken my vehicle in for a dealer 30,000
mi. service and found out that the rear brakes were
reported to be at 15% (while the front were at
25%). Dealer recommends replacement at 20%.

I'm curious if a rear brake service after a short
30,000 miles (I've got 29,900 actually) is normal?
I thought this was a front wheel drive and
expected most of the wear to occur in the front.

30,000 seems very early to me. I'm no expert
since my point of comparison being a standard trans
'84 supra I drove till '98 and put 150,000 miles
on, never having to replace the brakes. Was I
living in a fantasy world?!
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    robr2robr2 Member Posts: 8,805
    Perhaps we have the same dealer - I am in MA.

I have a 98 EX 4 cylinder auto and just had the rear brakes done at 30K as well. I was surprised when the dealer called me and said that the brakes would need to be done within 3K miles.

I asked how the front brakes were and was told they were fine. I accepted that as possible because when I had the 15K service done (different dealer), they had replaced the front rotors under warranty and I presumed the pads were replaced at the same time. I later checked my 15K paperwork and the pads were not listed (doesn't mean they did not change them). Alas, I authorized the rear brake work a week later.