Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

GOLF GLS 1.8T vs. GTI GLS 1.8T

2»

Comments

• Options
    dominguezhdominguezh Member Posts: 1
    First of all. I am the owner of a 1998 BMW M3 (wife drives Lexus RX-300). I love it. However, being a software consultant I have to travel Mon-Fri and some weekends. I have been getting tired of paying $700+ a month to keep this awesome car in my garage. I was #2 in the list for the new BMW M3 in my town and recently sold the spot for $$$ on Ebay.

So, ... I decided to get rid of my expensive M3 and get a less expensive car I would not mind having in the garage most of the time but still get a good feeling when I do drive it.

It was not a hard choice. I had to get a German car. I grew up in Mexico City where VWs are very common and learned to appreciate the feel and look of the GTI. It is truly an awesome car for the money. And it has that German driving feel to it. :)

Thanks to the posts on this board and by talking to VW and racing enthusiasts I opted to get a loaded GTI 1.8T. Got every option on it. I am planning on modifying it (with taste) little by little. I got a silver with black leather.

Anyway, ... yes, I will miss the power of my M3 but you know what? 0-60 both cars do the same time sitting in the garage. :)

Please email me info on where to get good accessories and parts for my new GTI that I am picking up today. hector@japan.com
  • Options
    mznmzn Member Posts: 727
    dominguezh, be sure to check out our Aftermarket & Accessories conference! And congratulations on your new car!!

carlady/host
  • Options
    joetoddjoetodd Member Posts: 2
    Does anyone know when in 2001 the VW Golf will be available with the "curtain" air bag for the head? These are supposed to be phased in during the 2001 model year, and I want one with this 3rd bag. When will Brazil (?) being installing these in Golfs? Thank you.